Research Institute of Astronomy

Web site:


The Research Institute of Astronomy at V.N. Karazin Kharkiv National University was established in January 2002 on the basis of the University Astronomical Observatory founded as far back as 1808. Today it is one of the leading astronomical institutions in Ukraine, engaged in fundamental and applied research in the field of Solar, Lunar and Planetary Physics, Physics of Satellites, Asteroids and Comets, Fundamental Astronomy and Stellar Astronometry, development of methods for enhanced space distribution in astronomical observations. The Institute is an international Solar Service Station and since 1933 Astronomical Observatory conducts regular observations and research within the State Time Service Program. The Institute has an observational out-station and a scientific library. It also has a 0.7-m reflector, Repsold meridian circle, a spectroheliograph, a transit instrument, a 0.2-m Zeus refractor, a 0.27-m reflector, a special coherent-optical system, listed in the State Register of Scientific Objects Constituting National Patrimony, and many other instruments.

The Institute provides research and training facilities for University undergraduate and graduate students majoring in Astronomy and postgraduate students.

Today the staff of the Institute, including the University Astronomy Department numbers 5 Doctors of Science and 20 PhDs. Their research activity earned them 4 State Awards of Ukraine and 4 M. Barabashov Ukrainian National Academy of Sciences Awards. 22 objects in the Solar System (craters on the Moon, Mars and Venus as well as 12 minor planets) are named after Kharkiv astronomers and graduates from the University Astronomy Department.

The Institute researchers are members of International Astronomical Union and European Astronomical Society. They conduct their studies in close cooperation with their colleagues from the USA, Germany, Italy, Sweden, Poland, Finland and Russia.

  • Director, Head of the Department for Methods of Planet Distant Probing
    PhD (Physics and Mathematics), Leading Research Fellow
    Vadym G. Kaydash
    Phone: 700-53-49
  • Deputy Director for Research
    PhD (Physics and Mathematics), Senior Researcher
    Volodimir O. Psarov
    Phone: 700-53-49
  • Deputy Director for General Issues
    Natalya O. Vorobyova
    Phone: 700-53-49
  • Head of the Solar System Small Bodies Department
    Doctor of Sciences (Physics and Mathematics), Leading Research Fellow
    Irina N. Belskaya
    Phone: 707-54-70
  • Head of the astrophysics department
    Doctor of Sciences (Physics and Mathematics), Senior Researcher
    Volodimir M. Dudinov
    Phone: 707-50-61
  • Head of the Fundamental Astronometry Laboratory
    PhD (Physics and Mathematics), Senior Researcher
    Petro M. Fedorov
    Phone: 707-55-58
  • Head of the Physics of the Sun, Moon and Planets Department
    PhD (Physics and Mathematics), Senior Researcher
    Viktor V. Korohin
    Phone: 707-50-64, 707-55-10
  • Head of Chuhuiv Research Station
    PhD (Physics and Mathematics), Senior Researcher
    Yuriy M. Krugly
    Phone: 707-52-35
  • Acting Senate Secretary
    Doctor of Science (Physics and Mathematics), Full Professor
    Yurij G. Shkuratov
    Phone: 700-53-49
  • Head of library
    Tetyana M. Mandryka
    Phone: 700-53-49