Academician I.M. Lifshyts Theoretical Physics Department

Web site:

The idea to create the Department of Theoretical Physics at Kharkiv University was suggested by the outstanding expert in Theoretical Physics of the 20th century, the Nobel and Lenin Prizes winner, academician L.D.Landau. Having worked at Kharkiv State University from 1935 till 1937, he started here the famous school of thought in Theoretical Physics, whose achievements are known well beyond the borders of Ukraine.

Training of students majoring in Theoretical Physics is now carried out by the Department of Theoretical Physics within the School of Physics at V.N. Karazin Kharkiv National University. The Department of Theoretical Physics was founded in 1944 by a disciple of Landau, a prominent scientist, the Lenin Prize winner, academician Lifshyts I.M., who had headed it until 1969. Lifshyts I.M. is well known all over the world due to his research in the Theories of Solids and Disordered Systems, as well as in Biophysics. His outstanding achievements in research enabled him to win the Lenin and Mandelshtam Prizes, as well as the Simon International Reward. As has been mentioned above, Lifshyts started the world-known Kharkiv school of thought in Theoretical Physics. Together with his disciples he created the Modern Electronic Theory of Metals, developed the basis for the Theory of Disordered Systems, within the Theory of Metals suggested an ideology, known nowadays as fermiology.

In 2008, on the occasion of the 90th anniversary of I. M. Lifshits and significant achievements of the staff, according to University Rector Order the Department became the first «named» Department at the Kharkov National University and is now called «Department of Theoretical Physics named after Academician I. M. Lifshits».

A number of well-known experts in Theoretical Physics had worked at the department: Full Professor Kaganov M. I., Corresponding Member of the Academy of Science of Ukraine Kaner E. A., Corresponding Member of NASU (National Academy of Science of Ukraine) Kosevich A. M., academician Pastur L. A., Full Professor Tsukernyk V. M. and others. Full Professors Peschansky V. G., Kovalev O. S., Yampol’skii V. O. and others are working at the department now. Seven Full Professors, seven Associate Professors, Senior Researcher and an engineer are working at the department. They all belong to the Landau-Lifshyts school of thought. Well known experts in Theoretical Physics from B. I. Verkin Institute for Low Temperature Physics and Engineering National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine (NASU), O. Ya. Usikov Institute for Radiophysics and Electronics of NASU, National Science Center Kharkov Institute of Physics and Technology of NASU are involved into the students training and research. Lifshyts I. M., Gulida L. S., Fal’ko I. I., Pargamanik L. E., Ul’yanov V. V., O. M. Ermolaev headed the Department at different times, G. I. Rashba being its head now.

The department conducts research in Theoretical Physics, in particular in the Theory of the Condensed State of Matter, Disordered Systems, Mezoscopics, Superconductivity, Magnetism, Quantum Theory of the Field, Gravitation, Nonlinear Physics and so on. The Department scientific production consists of almost 100 items each year including articles, reviews, monographs, textbooks.

Over 500 graduates and post-graduates in Theoretical Physics have graduated from the department. Almost half of them have got PhD degree, and 100 have got DSc degree. Some graduates became State Prizes Winners, authors of inventions.

The department trains experts in Theoretical Physics who can do research in any field of Theoretical Physics. The department graduates and post-graduates work as research staff at the Research Centers in Kharkiv and other cities of Ukraine, as well as teach Physics at university-level high schools, technical schools, colleges. A certain percentage of them work in CIS countries, EU countries, USA, as well as in some of the world’s leading research centers. Highly qualified specialists are training through postgraduate studies.

  • Head of the Department
    PhD (Physics and Mathematics), Аssociate Рrofessor
    Georgy I. Rashba
    Phone: 707-54-30